The first board meeting of the Delaware County Athletic Hall of Fame was held in the Muncie Central High School Board Room in 1976.  Those in attendance for this occasion were:
  • John Walker
  • Burl Clark
  • Roberta Falls
  • Bob Heeter
  • Charles Donovan
  • John Stebbins
  • Francis Lafferty
  • Leo Mench
  • Odie Barnett
  • Rollin Gill Sr.
  • Aaron Belcher
After a series of meetings, a decision was made to pursue establishing an Athletic Hall of Fame in Delaware County and to pursue the development of a constitution and by-laws and eventually articles of incorporation. The first elected officers to serve were
  • Francis Lafferty: Chairman
  • Aaron Belcher: Vice President
  • Burl Clark: Treasurer
Articles of Incorporation were approved in 1991. The Delaware County Hall of Fame is also designed as a non-profit organization under the Internal Revenue Code.   The Hall of Fame has been located at various places in the community:
  • Hotel Roberts
  • White River Plaza
  • Lobby of the Horizon Center
Presently the Hall of Fame does not have a physical location. We would appreciate any memorabilia that would be directly related to any athletic connection of any of the 13 high schools of our county.  We provide storage in a climatically controlled environment. Please click on the Memorabilia link to see pictures of memorabilia that has been graciously donated to us.   The stars on the logo for the Delaware County Athletic Hall of Fame represent the original thirteen high schools in Delaware County.  The lines going through the blue logo on the home page represent the state highways that pass through Delaware County, Indiana.   Like us on Facebook and Follow us on Twitter for information, nominations, inductees, scholarships and other local sports happenings!